top of page
  • Writer's picturepersonalizedlearning

Mountain Biking and Change: Three Tips for Dealing With Obstacles

Updated: Oct 15, 2020

Sarah Catto, a personalized learning coach with our office, continues her blog series about mountain biking and change.


Sliding Rock Creek Trail in Greenville, SC

In my first blog post for this series, I discussed the overall relationship I see between mountain biking and taking on change, starting with choosing a path that works for you. Today we are going to explore how to approach obstacles that appear along your path, whether riding a bike or trying something new. When mountain biking, unless you are on an intentionally smooth dirt trail, there are going to be bumps along the way. These could be roots, rocks, or even fallen logs, just to name a few. Of all these obstacles, roots are going to be one of the most commonplace features on a biking trail. In fact, roots are arguably the most feared trail feature for newbie riders, and even those with some experience. But once you have the skills required to ride roots with confidence, they become one of the most rewarding and fun trail features instead of something I would swerve off-trail to avoid.


How is this like dealing with change? We all know change is not easy, and obstacles will appear along the way. Maybe you are going to give a new instructional strategy a try or experiment with more student ownership in what you used to call “your” classroom. Obstacles are commonplace in this as well, and I hope after reading this blog post, you’ll feel you have some skills to tackle them with confidence.




Tip 1: Stay relaxed and off the brakes.


When I first started biking, I would try one of two strategies for dealing with roots on the path:


1. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. Even if I had to go WAY off the trail, I was NOT going to hit those treacherous-looking roots.


2. Brake. Brake. Brake. Maybe if I slow down enough, it won’t be as bad when my tire hits it.


I’m sure you can imagine the results of those choices. I’d either hit something worse as I veered off the path, slowing me down, or I’d get stuck on the root section. Braking on roots is a recipe for disaster, since a rolling tire can grip much better than a skidding tire. If I tense up as I approach a root section, it can be just as bad because I can hit them harder, causing my bike to slip.


So what’s the better strategy? Hit the roots head on, preferably at a 90 degree angle, and do so loosely without braking. It really does make sense. If I see an obstacle in my way and tense up, I’m going to hit it that much harder. And a wheel in motion wants to stay in motion, so braking as I hit the roots will just make me stop on them. Talk about counterproductive.


Same goes for those of you tackling change right now. You can’t avoid the stumbling blocks, and, if you try to, it’s just going to take you off your chosen path. Slow down too much and you will get bogged down in those obstacles, which isn’t what you want at all. So stay relaxed, know the obstacles are going to be there, and ride on through without letting them slow you down too much.


Sliding Rock Creek Trail in Greenville, SC

Tip 2: Keep your speed up as you approach.


Slowing down for roots increases the amount of time you are on the roots. So keeping your speed the same as you approach those root sections makes sense, right? Maybe in theory, but in practice, it’s hard not to instinctively slow down as you come upon a system of roots. Your eyes register them as a barrier in your way, and your brain tells your body that you might want to slow down a bit before you get much closer. This was something I needed to practice. When I would feel the need to slow down, I’d remember to trust my bike and its hydraulics to get me over that part. I just needed to keep my speed up. Not out of control fast, but not slowing down just because of the sight of an obstacle.


When you encounter problems as you implement something new in your teaching, your instinct will be to slow down. You might even have well-meaning peers telling you that maybe you should just back off trying learner profiles or giving your students some choice. Just wait until next year, right? Don’t let that stop you. One of the mantras of our team is: Think big. Start small. Act fast. The change you are trying may be a small one, but you need to keep that momentum going to keep your big ideas alive and well.


If you are constantly worrying about what deterrents or drawbacks you are going to encounter as you implement change, your focus is preoccupied with them, instead of the positive aspects of your journey.


One of the larger trail obstacles at Sliding Rock Creek Trail

Tip 3: Look for the grip points.


My final tip for conquering roadblocks in your way is to look for the grip points. Grip points are places along the trail where you can find control. The instinct of a new rider is to stare at the obstacles on the trail. I would do this, and my anxiety would mount as I approached the hurdle in my way until...BAM! I’d either brake to a stop, freak out and fall, or some comical combination of the two.


The trick is to look for the grip. If your eyes are constantly focusing on the dangers and slippery roots on a trail, then your brain is focusing on those instead of figuring out how to overcome them. In mountain biking, you are constantly having to evaluate and reevaluate as you ride. So if I’m consciously looking for the spots where I have control, I’m riding from one positive feature to the next. I focus on the positive and my entire outlook on my ride changes.


If you are constantly worrying about what deterrents or drawbacks you are going to encounter as you implement change, your focus is preoccupied with them, instead of the positive aspects of your journey. Where do you find happiness, success, and positivity on this journey? Maybe it’s a colleague who teams up with you and becomes a thought partner in the process. Maybe it’s your students’ delighted smiles as they experience true engagement for the first time. Look for your grip points.




The next installment in this series will explore failure. Make sure to check back in the coming weeks ahead!

106 views0 comments
bottom of page